User menu

Chairman's Awards 2014

The winners of the Bath & North East Somerset Council 2013/14 Chairman’s Community Awards have been announced. The aim of the Award is to recognise volunteers, community leaders, educational institutions and businesses that make a positive contribution to the local community.


Councillor Neil Butters , Chairman of the Council, said, “The volunteers, community leaders and businesses that make such a fantastic contribution to the local community and inspire others to get involved to shaping the future of their community have been celebrated through these awards. I’d like to thank everyone who made a nomination and congratulate all of those people who received an award.”


Councillor Will Sandry, Chair of the Student Community Partnership, said, “Students who live in the B&NES area make a really positive contribution to the community and it is fantastic that so many students were nominated and that all their hard work has been recognised at the awards.” 


Mike Plows, Volunteer Centre, “The Volunteer Centre, Bath & North East Somerset, is proud to be involved again with the Chairman's Awards and offers it's congratulations to the winners. They represent just the peak of the mountain of volunteering activity which goes on for the good of all in the locality.”


Vanessa Collier, Curo’s Community Engagement Manager, said, “At Curo we know that neighbourhoods are made great by the people who live in them, and we’re proud to be supporting these awards, which are all about people and community. This year’s entries have once again showcased the fantastic work local people are doing to make their neighbourhoods happy, safe and popular places. We’d like to thank everyone who took part and congratulate all the winners and runners-up.”



For more information, including photos from the awards celebration evening click here.


Volunteer Team of the Year – Bath Magistrates Courts Witnesses Service;

Young Volunteer Team of the Year – Enactus Bath, Students from University of Bath;

Neighbourhood Team – Alice Park Community Garden;

Education Award – University of Bath Students’ Union;

Business in the Community - B&NES and Curo Community Challenge staff Team at Read Aloud @ the Orangery;

Volunteer Leader of the Year – Linda Wyon, Corsham;

Young Volunteer Leader of the Year – Phoebe Bidgoode; Keynsham;

Good Neighbour of the Year – Shirley Edwards, Stanton Drew;

Volunteer of the Year – Nathan Gale, Bath;

Young Volunteer of the Year – Grace O’Hara, Keynsham;

Lifetime Achievements – Eileen Colburn, Midsomer Norton;

 Chairman’s Special Awards:


Mervyn Cox, Pensford, received a Special Award for his dedication to the local parish;

Andrew Denn and Jan Barling, Keynsham, received a Special Award for their commitment to education;

Daniel Hacker, Bath, received a Special Award for his commitment to children’s early years play and development;

John Mander, Radstock, received a Special Award for his service to the Scout Movement;

Odd Down Sainsbury’s received a Special Award for their support to local business;

Sid and Marion Parfitt, Midsomer Norton, received a Special Award for their commitment to education.

Back to Top